Awards in the area of wood furniture design
Design students of the UA win 1st and 3rd places at the Guilherme Award
Alunos da UA premiados no Guilherme Award
Third year students of the 1st cycle degree programme in Design of the University of Aveiro (UA) have won one first place, one third place and also a special mention, at the Guilherme Award, category “Higher Education Students”, competing with students from other national Design higher education schools. The prize is awarded within the framework of the project Associative Design of the Associação das Indústrias de Madeira e Mobiliário de Portugal (AIMMP) (Association of the Wood and Furniture Industries of Portugal).

To these prizes of the AIMMP, awarded at the official ceremony held at the Casino da Póvoa, on 17 February 2017, competed in the category “Higher Education Students”, apart from UA students, also other students from ESAD College of Art and Design, Matosinhos, from the Faculty of Engineering of the University of Porto (FEUP), from the University of Minho (UM) and from the Faculty of Fine Arts of the University of Lisbon (FBAUL). In this first edition, competed around 100 works, 26 of which have made it to the final stage of the competition.

Part of the students of Project in Design IV, in their third year of Design of the UA, have chosen to develop their work for this competition under the supervision of professor Teresa Franqueira, Alexandre Kumagai and José Leite. Were selected as finalists four groups of students, representing thus four of the 12 projects developed within this course unit. Thus, among the four competing works, three were awarded with prizes, and one of them was the winner in the category.

The awarded teams in the above-referred category were constituted as follows:

1st place: “Leitura” - Johan Vreeburg, Rita Olá, Tiago Miranda. 3rd place: “Escondida” - Maria Nunes, Raquel Agostinho and Rita Azevedo.

Special mention: “Nómada” - Diogo Castro, Gabriela Nogueira, Marco Santos, Marta Adamska.

The team constituted by Ana Lopes, Anita Azevedo, Ricardo Lima, authors of “Maria João”, was finalist.

Associative Design is an AIMMP project, which has as a mission to boost a movement of promotion of national products and is undertaken by its Department of Operations and Projects (DOP). Simultaneously, award of this prize is a way to encourage and support enterprises and creative individuals who show their interest in starting to promote and market their products in the external market, through Associative Design (AD).

other news